STAT OF THE WEEK: Got Some Joe-mentum?

28 Sep

According to a recent study by Dunkin’ Donuts and CareerBuilder, those who need coffee to get through the workday the most are:

I bet I know one of your traditions on National Coffee Day.

1. Food Preparation/Service Workers

2. Scientists

3. Sales Representatives

4. Marketing/Public Relations Professionals

5. Nurses (Nurse, Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant)

6. Editors/Writers/Media Workers

7. Business Executives

8. Teachers/Instructors (K-12)

9. Engineering Technicians/Support

10. IT Managers/Network Administrators

Not so proud about my increased coffee consumption since starting the new job in July, I now know the reason: I have moved from the 6th ranked professional segment above to No. 4.

Interestingly, the survey found that 62 percent of workers aged 18 to 24 say they are less productive without coffee. My love affair (or addiction?) with the “warmer uppers” started at age 20 when I worked in Alaska during a college summer. My roommate and fellow employee at the Westmark Inn happened to work behind the coffee counter in one of the hotel’s restaurants and would regularly provide me morning brew at below the employee discount price. I had no chance of resisting!

 

P.S. Tomorrow is National Coffee Day. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

