Great Moments in Guzzling

20 Mar
#1

#1

In honor of St. Patrick’s past and the March Madness gatherings to come, here are some top moments in guzzling:

#5 A fraternity brother and I (seems right to start with this stage in life) won the “Beer & Pizza” contest at Sigma Chi’s Derby Days — a proud accomplishment made all the sweeter by the fact that Hank and I were by far the smallest contestants in the timed competition.

#4 On senior trip in Daytona, Fla., in 1992, a high school friend quite vehemently defended his supply of “Georgia beer.” Ya see, it was believed (but I’m not sure ever confirmed) that a Georgia Busch Light had higher alcohol by volume than the same from the Sunshine State.

#3 My wife’s aunt thoroughly enjoyed our wedding reception, so much so that she grabbed a whole bottle of wine on her way out of the venue. When stopped by staff, she proclaimed, “But we paid for this!” It was quickly explained to her that the father of the bride was paying by the drink.

#2 My “little brother” in our fraternity actually chose to leave a party through a window (!!!) rather than meet my parents. Big in heart, small in stature, Willy told me later that he made the unusual exit because he was worried about his appearance after imbibing.

#1 To my spring 2006 bachelor party at Fenway Park in Boston my brother-in-law, always the party amplifier, boldly brought beer helmets ($100 was reportedly the total with which he bribed the Red Sox ticket-taker). As you might imagine, many shenanigans ensued during the game, including fans raining quarters down on us and our two-brew headsets. Something I’ll never forget — although I tried hard that weekend to erase many a memory — was hearing a whole section of Boston baseball fans slowly, then surely and eventually loudly and proudly chant for Chip to “chug” a round of fresh beers resting over his ears. He did not disappoint.

 

“I feel sorry for people who don’t drink. When they wake up in the morning, that’s as good as they’re going to feel all day.”Frank Sinatra

4 Responses to “Great Moments in Guzzling”

  1. Greg C. March 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Here is a wiki list of state alcohol laws. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcohol_laws_of_the_United_States_by_state

    I also heard that Florida beer was generally weaker. It does not appear to be true now, though it was pretty persistent as a rumor way back when and may have been true at the time.

    I now hear that Alabama has a lower ABV for beer, though I don’t have any confirmation of that. I’m not certain that it matters after a certain point, unless one is really really really price consicous. I’d imagine that the alcohol content requirements from one state to another would have to be pretty significant to make more than a beer’s worth of difference.

  2. bleeveblog May 5, 2016 at 9:29 am #

    Reblogged this on bleeveblog and commented:

    In celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Boston Beer-Helmet Party!

    (aka my bachelor party at Fenway Park)

  3. RF May 5, 2016 at 9:54 am #

    Good things can happen with ample hops. I started a band with another guy in the basement of my fraternity house at 2:00 in the morning while he and I were finishing off a keg after a mixer! The band (without me) later played at my wedding.

    • bleeveblog May 6, 2016 at 8:27 am #

      I’m nominating your post for blog comment of the year, Judge!

Leave a Reply

