Take It Easy

26 Feb

GlennFrey_vintageThe passing of Eagles founding member Glenn Frey last month hit me hard as a fan. Combine the power of music with the very special talent and fusion of the greatest American band, mix in the accompanying memories from youth and I was definitely going to stop and feel the loss.

Frey and the Eagles pumped you up, but could also slow you down and make you think. (For me, “Take It To the Limit,” which was co-written by Frey, will forever be connected to Houston, Texas, a city my family left when I was but 4 years old.) Their unique yet relatable formula, coupled with the “great harmony,” as my musician father-in-law noted, captured folks’ attention across generations.

Eagles lyrics 1

The Eagles’ music seemed to appeal to everybody. An opinionated, image-conscious 16-year-old could gladly agree with his 40-something father on their CD selection. No questions asked…

That brings me to my dad. The Eagles not only were a key part of the soundtrack of my life thanks to him, but their songs, in large part, also seem to embody the down-to-earth style and attitude of the hardworking man, who also knows how to relax: Seven Bridges Road; Peaceful, Easy Feeling and Take It Easy (!).

Eagles lyrics 2Funny though the answer when I asked my father for his favorite Eagles song: “Every time I hear [‘Lyin’ Eyes’] I start singing at the top of my lungs,” said dad, two years Frey’s senior.

Country radio’s not doing a whole lot right these days – no lyin’ there – but I gotta be extra thankful for the Nashville artists of the ‘90s. Their three-time platinum “Common Thread” Eagles tribute album, which came out in 1993 just when I was beginning to embrace commercial country, is largely credited for getting the band back together, and perhaps introducing another generation to the group’s unique talents.

“I am always amazed by [Don Henley’s] ability to sing and play drums at the same time,” said my father-in-law, a drummer himself.  “The original group was good, but I think they became better as Henley sang more leads and when Joe Walsh joined them,” added Rick, who started beating the drums in his first band years before the Eagles were founded.

The Eagles announced the passing of their legendary bandmate with his poignant lyrics from the “Long Road Out of Eden” album. It’s our world now, but a much better one because of the artist’s wonderful contributions. Thank you, Glenn Frey!

It’s your world now
Use well the time
Be part of something good
Leave something good behind
The curtain falls
I take my bow
That’s how it’s meant to be
It’s your world now.

 

One Response to “Take It Easy”

  1. Vickie Ross March 4, 2016 at 10:59 am #

    Brian,
    I loved reading this Blog entry. I too am a long time fan of the Eagles and have many fond memories of listening to their music and of having the absolute pleasure of seeing them in concert. Thank you for reminding the world to “take it easy”.

Leave a Reply

